Course Retention Guidelines
- Faculty can copy content into new course sites. Course Copy Instructions »
- Faculty can archive a complete copy of their course site for storage and future use. Archiving Instructions »
Temporarily, no courses are being deleted from the system. Courses from Spring 2013 and later will stay in Blackboard until further notice.
In an effort to provide faculty and students with adequate access to past course sites and information contained in the campus-sponsored learning management system (LMS) for reference, copying and contesting grades while maintaining a stable LMS infrastructure (performance, storage and bandwidth), below are guidelines that will govern the retention of course sites.
"Course sites" refer to the space in which materials are hosted on the LMS. Course materials include files uploaded by faculty and or students that have access to the site, assignments submitted by students and grade book data.
After 2 years, course sites will be deleted from the system. Course deletions will occur on or after January 15 and July 15 of each year. For example, Fall 2010 courses will be deleted on or after January 15, 2013. Instructors will be notified via an email to their Mason email address four weeks prior to each deletion date and an announcement will be posted in myMason.
The full course retention guidelines are available on the ITS website.
Course Copy/Archiving Course Options
To assist faculty in copying content from an old course site into a new course and/or archiving a course site please review the following step-by-step instructions:
Course Site Deletion Schedule
|Summer 2013||January 15, 2016|
|Fall 2013||January 15, 2016|
||July 15, 2016
||January 15, 2017
||January 15, 2017
Permanent Courses, Sandbox Courses, and Organizations will not be deleted as part of this schedule.