Blackboard Profile and Privacy


    profile

    The Blackboard profile is a reflection of how you want to present yourself to your peers, classmates, and instructors. In your Blackboard profile you decide what you want to be called, what your academic interests are, and anything else you want to share with other users.

    Adding an image and personal interests is completely optional.

    The Blackboard profile is not the same as your Mason user account. The Mason user account is your official student registration information at the school. Your student name and NetID/email address will always be visible to instructors in courses which you are enrolled.

    Setting up your Profile

    profil2Access your Blackboard profile anytime through My Blackboard. Click your name at the top right, and choose Edit My Profile to begin creating or updating your profile. (1)

    After creating your account, choose Edit My Profile and then the Settings & Privacy button to upload your photo. (2)

    About Profile Images

    Your image is displayed in the myMason page header, the My Blackboard People page, your courses Blogs, Journals, Discussion Boards, Wikis, Roster, and within course Home Page Notifications Modules (including What's New, Needs Attention, To Do, and Alerts). 

    About Profile Privacy Settings

    The privacy settings in your personal profile set how your Profile Card appears in My Blackboard and in your courses. Review each option on the Edit My Profile page carefully to identify users who can view your Profile Card.

    Privacy Options:

    • My Institution: If you select this option, anybody at your school can find and view you on the People page. They do not have to be enrolled in the same course or organization as you. Your name and image appear and users can view your profile card. This is required to use and edit your profile image with Collaborate Ultra.
    • Hidden: If you select this option, no users can find and view you on the People page. Your name and image appear throughout your courses but users cannot view your Profile card.