Ultra: Collaborate Ultra Help
- If you don't see your recording, change "Show Recent Recordings" to "Show Recordings in a Range."
- The recording name cannot be changed.
- In order to allow recordings to be downloaded, go back to the session settings and check the "Allow Recording Downloads" option.
- Recordings are in mp4 format and can take up to one hour to display in Blackboard after the recording ends.
- Chat is available by clicking the purple tab at the bottom right of the recording (chat is only available for recordings made after Feb. 4, 2017).
- Copy the public link ("Copy link")
- Download the recording as an mp4 file ("Download"). You can share the downloaded file as needed. For future courses, you can upload to Kaltura
You must give the browser permission to use audio and video the first time you participate in a session.
Chrome or Firefox are the recommended browser, and only browsers that supports screen sharing. Other browser require Flash to be installed. See the following on recommended browsers.
Users must have a myMason profile image before adding/editing an image in Collaborate Ultra.
A separate recording is created each time you start and stop recording during a sessions. Where do the recordings go? Back in your Blackboard Course or Organization, in the Collaborate Ultra tool, click the Menu button and change to Recordings.
Students in your course can see the recordings using the steps above (in the course, no additional action needed). However, if you want to share the recordings with others (outside of Mason or to other courses/semesters) you have two options:
Note: In session settings, you must enable "Allow recording downloads" before you will see the download option.
Use the guest access link to allow anyone (no login/Mason NetID required) to attend your session. Instructors may wish to use guest access to allow students from multiple sections/courses to meet online in one room.
Next to the course room or a scheduled session, click the "more" button and then choose either "Get guest link" or "Edit settings" to view and copy the guest link. Choose if guests will be participants or have a role with additional privileges. Send users the guest link via email or post in Blackboard.
The guest access link is an easy way to access sessions via the Bb Student app.
Group Work/Student Rooms
Faculty often wish to give students access to a Collaborate room in which the students have full access to share content. This is often useful to facilitate group work.
In Collaborate Ultra create (or edit) a session. Under Session Settings (you may need to click the words to expand) for "Default Participant Role" choose Participant or Moderator. While both roles can use the whiteboard, upload files, and share screens only the Moderator role can create a recording*.
*Please note that a recording created during a group session will be available to all students and instructors in the course.