Ultra: Collaborate Ultra Help


    Student Guide

    Collaborate Ultra: Participant >

    Recommended Browsers

    Chrome or Firefox are the recommended browser, and only browsers that supports screen sharing. Other browser require Flash to be installed. See the following on recommended browsers.

    Audio & Video Troubleshooting

    You must give the browser permission to use audio and video to participate in a session. See More >

    Profile Images

    Users must have a myMason profile image before adding/editing a profile image in Collaborate Ultra.

    Recordings

    Where do you view recorded sessions? Back in your Blackboard Course or Organization, in the Collaborate Ultra tool, click the Menu button and change to Recordings. If you don't see a recording, change "Show Recent Recordings" to "Show Recordings in a Range."

    Chat is available by clicking the purple tab at the bottom right of the recording (chat is only available for recordings made after Feb. 4, 2017).

    recordings

    Group Presentation Recordings

    Instructors can make a Collaborate online meeting room available inside groups, and optionally allow students to record their session. For example, one or more students could upload PowerPoint slides and narrate the presentation for an assignment.

    • Access your group from the course menu (image 1 below)
    • Choose the Collaborate tool, and click the Join Room button
    • Once in Collaborate, prepare your session by uploading any files and confirm you microphone is on and working. Details on using Collaborate can be found here: https://help.blackboard.com/Collaborate/Ultra/Moderator/Get_Started/Basics
    • Choose the menu at the top left and begin the recording (image 2 below). After you session is over, the recording will become available in about as much time as the length of the recording. It will be located on your group's Collaborate page.
    • The recording is only available to group members and instructors/TAs via the group's Collaborate page. Students cannot share a link or download the recording. Only the instructor/TA has the ability to get a link to the recording, edit the name, and delete the recording.

    collab